What is The Story Prize?

The Story Prize is an annual book award honoring the author of an outstanding collection of short fiction with a $20,000 cash award. Each of two runners-up will receive $5,000. Eligible books must be written in English and first published in the United States during a calendar year.

How are books considered for the award?

Publishers, authors, or agents may enter eligible works of short fiction. Guidelines and application forms may be found by following the appropriate links on this site. There is a $75 entry fee for each book.

How is the winner decided?

Larry Dark, director of The Story Prize, and Advisory Board member Julie Lindsey will select three finalists from among the books entered. Three independent judges will choose the winner from among the finalists.

Who will serve as the judges?

The group of judges will have a different composition every year but will consist of a mix of writers, booksellers, readers, critics, teachers, publishers, and editors. The 2018 judges were author Jo Ann Beard, Washington Post book critic Ron Charles, and bookseller Veronica Santiago Liu.

When will the finalists be announced?

The three books selected as 2018 finalists—A Lucky Man by Jamel Brinkley, Your Duck Is My Duck by Deborah Eisenberg, and Florida by Lauren Groff—were announced on Jan. 9, 2019. Finalists are announced each year around this time.

How will the winner be announced?

The 2018 winner—Lauren Groff—was presented with an engraved silver bowl and $20,000 at a ceremony at The New School's Auditorium at 66 West 12th Street, in New York City, in March 2019. At this event, the three finalists—Jamel Brinkley, Deborah Eisenberg, and Lauren Groff—read from their books and discussed their work on-stage with Larry Dark, the Director of The Story Prize. After the last author interview, Founder Julie Lindsey announced the winner.

How can I attend The Story Prize awards ceremony and reading?

The event is open to the general public. We will post a link to online ticket sales as soon as it becomes available, usually the day of the announcement. Tickets may also be purchased at The New School the evening of the event. They cost $14, with an additional fee online.

What is The Story Prize Spotlight Award?

The Story Prize Spotlight Award is an additional $1,000 prize for the author of an outstanding story collection that merits further attention. Larry Dark and Julie Lindsey will select the winner at their discretion from among the regular pool of entries for The Story Prize. Any book submitted for The Story Prize will also receive consideration for The Story Prize Spotlight Award. There is no separate entry or added fee. The 2018/19 winner of The Story Prize Spotlight Award was Half Gods by Akil Kumarasamy.


 © 2019 The Story Prize TM