The Story Prize is a $20,000 book prize

awarded to the author of the collection of short stories named best of the year by a distinguished jury. 

"The Story Prize — which recognizes the best story collection to be published each year — has quickly established itself as a nifty jewel in a writer’s crown."

The 2016 event will be at the New School Auditorium on March 8, 2017

Stay tuned for ticket information!

Last year's winner, Adam Johnson, talking with interviewer Larry Dark about the craft of writing.

The three finalists read from their nominated books and are interviewed on stage. Then the winner is announced and is presented with the prize.

We are now accepting entries for books published from July through December 2016.

Entries are due November 15

The Story Prize partners