2013/14 Winner & Finalists

Andrea Barrett, George Saunders, and Rebecca Lee. ( Event photos by Beowulf Sheehan.)

Andrea Barrett, George Saunders, and Rebecca Lee. (Event photos by Beowulf Sheehan.)


McCracken Book.jpg

  Winner: Tenth of December by George Saunders

George Saunders is the author of Tenth of December and six previous books, including the story collections CivilWarLand in Bad Decline, Pastoralia, and In Persuasion Nation. He has received fellowships from the MacArthur Foundation, the Lannan Foundation, the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and the Guggenheim Foundation. Saunders has been awarded the Pen/Malamud Award for Excellence in the Short Story and was included in Time's list of the 100 most influential people in the world. He teaches in the Creative Writing Program at Syracuse University.

Marciano Book.jpg

Finalist: Archangel by Andrea Barrett

Andrea Barrett is the author of Archangel, The Air We Breathe, Servants of the Map (finalist for the Pulitzer Prize), The Voyage of the Narwhal, Ship Fever (winner of the National Book Award), and other books. She is the recipient of a MacArthur Fellowship, teaches at Williams College, and lives in northwestern Massachusetts.

Moore Book.jpg

Finalist: Bobcat by Rebecca Lee

Rebecca Lee is professor of creative writing at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, and the author of The City Is a Rising Tide. Her fiction has been read on NPR's Selected Shorts, and her stories have been published in the Atlantic Monthly and Zoetrope.

praying drunk.jpg

The Story Prize Spotlight Award: Byzantium by Ben Stroud

Ben Stroud is the author of Byzantium, winner of the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference Bakeless Prize. His stories have appeared in Harper's, One Story, Electric Literature, and Boston Review,among other magazines, and have been anthologized in New Stories from the South and Best American Mystery Stories. A native of Texas, he now lives in Ohio and teaches creative writing at the University of Toledo.

The Story Prize Spotlight Award is a $1,000 prize for a short story collection worthy of additional attention. This is not a judged prize—the Director and Founder of The Story Prize, Larry Dark and Julie Lindsey, select the winner at their discretion from among the regular pool of entries for The Story Prize. The winner of the Story Prize Spotlight Award might be the work of an emerging author, an established but overlooked author, or an innovator in the short story form.

The 2013/14 Story Prize Judges

  • Stephen Enniss is the Director of the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas at Austin
  • Antonya Nelson, author
  • Rob Spillman is the editor and co-founder of Tin House