2011/12 Winner & Finalists

Julie Lindsey, Steven Millhauser, Larry Dark, and Edith Pearlman. (Event photos by Beowulf Sheehan.)

Julie Lindsey, Steven Millhauser, Larry Dark, and Edith Pearlman. (Event photos by Beowulf Sheehan.)


McCracken Book.jpg

We Others: New & Selected Stories by Steven Millhauser

Steven Millhauser is the author of numerous works of fiction including Martin Dressler, which was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in 1997, and Dangerous Laughter, aNew York Times Book Review Best Book of the Year. His work has been translated into fifteen languages, and his story “Eisenheim the Illusionist” was the basis of the 2006 film The Illusionist. His most recent collection, We Others (Alfred A. Knopf), comprises seven new and fourteen selected stories, written over the past thirty years. He currently teaches at Skidmore College and lives in Saratoga Springs, New York. Buy this book

Marciano Book.jpg

Finalist: The Angel Esmeralda by Don DeLillo

Don DeLillo is the author of fifteen novels, including Falling Man, Libra, and White Noise, and three plays, in addition to the story collection The Angel Esmeralda (Scribner). He has won the National Book Award, the PEN/Faulkner Award, the PEN/Saul Bellow Award for Achievement in American Fiction, and the Jerusalem Prize. In 2006, Underworld was named one of the three best novels of the last twenty-five years by The New York Times Book Review, and in 2000 it won the William Dean Howells Medal of the American Academy of Arts and Letters for the most distinguished work of fiction of the past five years. Buy this book

Moore Book.jpg

Finalist: Binocular Vision by Edith Pearlman

Edith Pearlman is the recipient of the 2011 PEN/Malamud Award for excellence in the art of short fiction and the Wallant Award for fiction considered to have significance for the American Jew. She has published more than 250 works in national magazines and anthologies, including Best American Short Stories, The PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories, New Stories from the South, and The Pushcart Prize. She is the author of four story collections: Binocular Vision (Lookout Books), which was also a finalist for the National Book Award; Vaquita, winner of the Drue Heinz Prize for Literature; Love Among the Greats, winner of the Spokane Fiction Award; and How to Fall, winner of the Mary McCarthy Prize. She lives in Brookline, MassachusettsBuy this book

The 2011/12 Story Prize Judges

  • Author Sherman Alexie 
  • Breon Mitchell Professor of Germanic Studies and Comparative Literature, and Director of The Lilly Library at Indiana University.
  • Louise Steinman is the curator of the award-winning ALOUD reading/conversation series for the Los Angeles Public Library, and co-director of the Los Angeles Institute for Humanities at USC.