The winner will be announced at The Story Prize's annual award event at the New School's Auditorium at

66 West 12th Street in New York City at 7:30 p.m. on Wednesday, February 28th. 


The Story Prize, now in its 14th year, is pleased to honor its finalists three outstanding short story collections chosen from 120 submissions representing 93 different publishers or imprints. They are:

• The King Is Always Above the People by Daniel Alarcón (Riverhead Books)

• Homesick for Another World by Ottessa Moshfegh (Penguin Press)

• Anything Is Possible by Elizabeth Strout (Random House)


The King Is Always Above the People by Daniel Alarcón portrays citizens struggling to belong to or hoping to escape from an unnamed South American country. The stories in Ottessa Moshfegh's Homesick for Another World unflinchingly depict women and men seeking meaning in off-kilter circumstances. Anything Is Possible by Elizabeth Strout navigates the bleak terrain of a rural Illinois setting, depicting the haunting effect of the past on the present lives of its characters.

At the Feb. 28 event, which is co-sponsored by Graduate Creative Writing Program at The New School, finalists Alarcón, Moshfegh, and Strout will read from and discuss their work with Larry Dark. After which, the founder of the prize, Julie Lindsey, will announce the winner and present that author with $20,000 and an engraved silver bowl. The two runners-up will each receive $5,000.


Daniel Alarcón is the author of The King Is Always Above the People, the novels At Night We Walk in Circles and Lost City Radio, as well as the story collection War by Candlelight and the graphic novel City of Clowns. His writing has appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times Magazine, Granta, n+1, and Harper's, and he was named one of The New Yorker’s “20 Under 40” fiction writers. He is Executive Producer of “Radio Ambulante,” distributed by NPR, and is an assistant professor of broadcast journalism at the Columbia University School of Journalism in New York.


Ottessa Moshfegh is the author of the story collection Homesick for Another World. Her novel Eileen won the PEN/Hemingway Award for debut fiction and was shortlisted for the National Book Critics Circle Award and the Man Booker Prize. Her stories have appeared in The Paris Review, The New Yorker, and Granta, and have earned her a Pushcart Prize, an O. Henry Award, the Plimpton Discovery Prize, and a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts. Her first book, McGlue, a novella, won the Fence Modern Prize in Prose and the Believer Book Award.


Elizabeth Strout is the author of Anything Is Possible and of the Pulitzer Prize–winning Olive Kitteridge, as well as the novels My Name Is Lucy Barton, The Burgess Boys, Abide with Me, and Amy and Isabelle, which won The Los Angeles Times Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction and the Chicago Tribune Heartland Prize. Anything Is Possible was named one of the best books of the year by the The New York Times Book Review, USA Today, and The Washington Post, among other publications. Her short stories have appeared in a number of magazines, including The New Yorker and O: The Oprah Magazine.


Three independent judges will determine the winner of The Story Prize:

• Author Susan Minot.

• Critic and Author Walton Muyumba.

• Library Journal Associate Editor Stephanie Sendaula.



We’re pleased to announce the 6th winner of The Story Prize Spotlight Award, Lee Conell’s Subcortical, published by Johns Hopkins University Press. In addition to naming three finalists each January, we also award The Story Prize Spotlight Award to a short story collection of exceptional merit. Winners of The Story Prize Spotlight Award can be promising works by first-time authors, collections in alternative formats, or works that demonstrate an unusual perspective on the writer's craft. The winner receives a prize of $1,000.


The Story Prize is a $20,000 book prize awarded to the author of the collection of short stories named best of the year by a distinguished jury. 

The Story Prize ― which recognizes the best story collection to be published each year ― has quickly established itself as a nifty jewel in a writer’s crown.

The Story Prize event will take place on Feb. 28 @ 7:30 p.m., at The New School in New York City. 


The Story Prize partners